OwlCrate Jr Blog — Middle Grade

Everything You Need to Know About OwlCrate Jr's WITCHES IN TRAINING theme!
Everything You Need to Know About OwlCrate Jr's WITCHES IN TRAINING theme!

Practice makes perfect, especially when it comes to casting magical spells! Our February book is a fantastical reimagining of an enduring classic that is laugh out loud funny, touching, and sure to bewitch readers young and old. This story will be perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank The Moon, Eva Evergreen: Semi-Magical Witch, and Anne of Green Gables.

Continue Reading
Whatcha Reading? January 2023
Whatcha Reading? January 2023

After a well deserved break, Team OwlCrate is off to a strong reading start in 2023! Here are just a few of our favorite reads from January. We'd love to hear yours in the comments!

Continue Reading
Middle Grade Book Club — Futureland: Battle For The Park (day 1)
Middle Grade Book Club — Futureland: Battle For The Park (day 1)

An epic Disneyland-adventure-ride futuristic theme park, a band of friends —both real and AI— and a sinister plot to bring down the park all combine in this fun new adventure story from H.D. Hunter. If you like fast paced, mixed media stories, you’ll want to grab a copy of Futureland and join us for this month’s book club, hosted by Cheryl of And Other Tales! 

Continue Reading
OwlCrate Jr Middle Grade Book Club: Into The Glades (day 2)
OwlCrate Jr Middle Grade Book Club: Into The Glades (day 2)

We are back for part two of our three part read-along of Into The Glades for Laura Sebastian!

Continue Reading
The Top 11 Middle Grade Books We Read in 2022
The Top 11 Middle Grade Books We Read in 2022

The Best Middle Grade We Read in 2022* *In addition to all of our official OwlCrate Jr picks As bonafide professional bookworms, our team reads A LOT of books every year, in addition to the twelve new titles we get to build boxes around. As 2022 comes to an end, we wanted to highlight a few of our very favorite middle grade reads from the last year —newly published and backlist— that we believe deserve a spot on everyone's TBR list.  Get your wish lists and library cards ready!  In The Beautiful Country by Jane Kuo This semi-autobiographical novel in...

Continue Reading
Summer 2021 Middle Grade Books We Can't Wait To Read
Summer 2021 Middle Grade Books We Can't Wait To Read

Check out the summer 2021 middle grade books on our TBR!

Continue Reading
Talk With Us on TikTok!
Talk With Us on TikTok!

Check out just a few TikToks from the new OwlCrate Jr BookTok account!

Continue Reading
Everything You Need to Know About July 2021's 'Creativity Conquers All' Theme
Everything You Need to Know About July 2021's 'Creativity Conquers All' Theme

OwlCrate Jr's July 2021 theme is "CREATIVITY CONQUERS ALL"! Here is what you can expect to find inside...

Continue Reading
Text reads "Guest Post Tracy Catherine Reads." Photo shows a family of five people, each wearing rainbow pride flags and face masks.
Guest Post: Pride Month Middle Grade Recommendations

OwlCrate Jr rep @tracycatherinereads gives us her middle grade book recommendations for Pride month!

Continue Reading
Everything You Need to Know About June 2021's 'Wondrous Worlds' Theme
Everything You Need to Know About June 2021's 'Wondrous Worlds' Theme

OwlCrate Jr's June 2021 theme is "WONDROUS WORLDS"! Here is what you can expect to find inside...

Continue Reading
Two-tone purple graphic. Text reads Interview with Author Kaela Rivera. Woman with dark brown hair smiles at camera. Book cover reads Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls, showing girl with short dark hair with desert sunset in background.
Interview with the Author: Kaela Rivera

Interview with the Kaela Rivera, author of Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls—featured book from the April 2021 'Legendary Courage' OwlCrate Jr box.

Continue Reading