OwlCrate Jr Blog — Middle Grade

OwlCrate Jr December THINK BIG Unboxing
OwlCrate Jr December THINK BIG Unboxing

Time to take a closer look at all the wonderful goodies included in our December THINK BIG box!

Continue Reading
Megan Reyes, author of HEROES OF HAVENSONG: DRAGONBOY
Interview with author Megan Reyes!

Exclusive OwlCrate Jr interview with Megan Reyes, author of Heroes of Havensong: Dragonboy.

Continue Reading
Introducing OwlCrate Jr Monthly Reading Guides!
Introducing OwlCrate Jr Monthly Reading Guides!

Extend the reading fun each month with our new monthly reading guides curated by the author's themselves!

Continue Reading
20 Exciting New Middle Grade Books Out in Winter 2023!
20 Exciting New Middle Grade Books Out in Winter 2023!

There's no better way to start a new year than by looking ahead to all the incredible stories heading our way.

Continue Reading
15 Must Read Middle Grade Books by Black Authors
15 Must Read Middle Grade Books by Black Authors

In honor of Black History month this February, the team wanted to share some excellent own voices Middle Grade stories. Add these titles to your TBR asap and watch for more from these incredibly talented authors.

Continue Reading
Everything You Need to Know About OwlCrate Jr's WITCHES IN TRAINING theme!
Everything You Need to Know About OwlCrate Jr's WITCHES IN TRAINING theme!

Practice makes perfect, especially when it comes to casting magical spells! Our February book is a fantastical reimagining of an enduring classic that is laugh out loud funny, touching, and sure to bewitch readers young and old. This story will be perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank The Moon, Eva Evergreen: Semi-Magical Witch, and Anne of Green Gables.

Continue Reading
Whatcha Reading? January 2023
Whatcha Reading? January 2023

After a well deserved break, Team OwlCrate is off to a strong reading start in 2023! Here are just a few of our favorite reads from January. We'd love to hear yours in the comments!

Continue Reading
Middle Grade Book Club — Futureland: Battle For The Park (day 1)
Middle Grade Book Club — Futureland: Battle For The Park (day 1)

An epic Disneyland-adventure-ride futuristic theme park, a band of friends —both real and AI— and a sinister plot to bring down the park all combine in this fun new adventure story from H.D. Hunter. If you like fast paced, mixed media stories, you’ll want to grab a copy of Futureland and join us for this month’s book club, hosted by Cheryl of And Other Tales! 

Continue Reading
OwlCrate Jr Middle Grade Book Club: Into The Glades (day 2)
OwlCrate Jr Middle Grade Book Club: Into The Glades (day 2)

We are back for part two of our three part read-along of Into The Glades for Laura Sebastian!

Continue Reading
The Top 11 Middle Grade Books We Read in 2022
The Top 11 Middle Grade Books We Read in 2022

The Best Middle Grade We Read in 2022* *In addition to all of our official OwlCrate Jr picks As bonafide professional bookworms, our team reads A LOT of books every year, in addition to the twelve new titles we get to build boxes around. As 2022 comes to an end, we wanted to highlight a few of our very favorite middle grade reads from the last year —newly published and backlist— that we believe deserve a spot on everyone's TBR list.  Get your wish lists and library cards ready!  In The Beautiful Country by Jane Kuo This semi-autobiographical novel in...

Continue Reading
Summer 2021 Middle Grade Books We Can't Wait To Read
Summer 2021 Middle Grade Books We Can't Wait To Read

Check out the summer 2021 middle grade books on our TBR!

Continue Reading